Tags

Happy 2016 everyone! I like the fresh start, clean slate feeling of January.    I don’t make resolutions but if there is something you want to do more of, or less of, January is as good a time as any to start.

In July 2015 I posted the recipe for Sun-dried Tomato Pesto Pasta.  In that post I mentioned how my cousin and I live too far apart.  Well, we live even farther apart now but I feel closer to her than ever.  She had a great idea for us to pick one or two recipes a month for us to make and discuss.  When I read the recipe from Cookie + Kate for Spinach Artichoke Enchiladas I knew we’d both love it.  I made it yesterday, texting her throughout, and sent her my final thoughts by e-mail.  She plans on making soon and I’m excited to hear how she likes it.  I LOVED it!

Now, I know that most people had more than enough cookies in December and have sworn them off for a while BUT I have to share these two new favorites.  I made a batch of each the other day and froze the scooped dough for baking on a snowy day or a day that just begs for a fresh from the oven cookie.  Salted Peanut Butter Cookies and The Browniest Cookies.

One more recipe to share.  A couple months ago my friend Stacey and her son visited and brought a very delicious corn and black bean dip.  I was instantly hooked.  I made it for Christmas and my sister-in-law and I ate the whole bowl.  This is great on its own, with corn chips, on a salad, and with chicken.  Ooohhhh, a salad with chicken, corn chips and dip. Hello lunch.

Stacey’s Corn and Black Bean Dip

  • 1 (15 oz) can black beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1 (11 oz) can shoe peg corn, drained and rinsed
  • 4 oz crumbled feta
  • 1/2 cup extra virgin olive oil
  • 1/2 cup apple cider vinegar
  • 2 TBSP – 1/4 cup granulated sugar, to taste

Place beans, corn and feta in large bowl. In a separate bowl, whisk together oil, vinegar and 2TBSP sugar.  Taste it and add more sugar if needed.  Pour over corn, bean and feta. Mix well.

This keeps well for a week in the fridge.  Just let it warm up a little and give it a good stir.

Have a great 2016!

