Happy Thanksgiving!

I hope everyone got their favorite must-have holiday food.  We all have at least one.  My husbands family has a lot: Easter Bread and Scrippelle (crepes in broth) on Easter, Italian Turkey Stuffing on Thanksgiving and Holiday Soup on Christmas, and many others.  The only “must-have” I had as a kid was pineapple stuffing on Easter.  It was my dish to contribute to Easter until my sister-in-laws husband started bringing it.  I needed a new dish so  a couple years when I found this Carrot Souffle recipe I was excited to try it as the replacement.  I made a half recipe trial and it was delicious.  Still, I wasn’t sure it would be well received so I only brought a half recipe to Easter dinner and, happily, it was enjoyed by all.  It may not be a “must-have” but there’s never much left and my four-year old eats it so that’s good enough for me!

This recipe comes from Cooking Light.  The original recipe calls for fat-free sour cream; I use full fat.  It calls for 7 cups chopped carrots (about 2 pounds); to eliminate the scrubbing and chopping I use baby carrots.  To cut the recipe in half, halve all ingredients and use 2 eggs.

Carrot Souffle — 8 servings (serving size 1/2 cup)

  • 2 pounds baby carrots
  • 2/3 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup sour cream (full fat)
  • 3 TBSP all-purpose flour
  • 2 TBSP butter, melted (optional)
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 3 large eggs, lightly beaten
  1. Preheat oven to 350°F.  Lightly grease a 2 quart dish.
  2. Cook carrots until tender, drain and cool under cold water.
  3. Place cooled carrots in food processor or blender and process until smooth.
  4. Add sugar through eggs and pulse to combine.
  5.  Pour into prepared dish and bake 40 minutes or until puffed and set.

NOTE: The last two times I made this I omitted the melted butter and it was just as good.

I just thought that it might be fun to cook these in individual ramekins!  The cooking time would be significantly less.  If I get around to trying it I’ll update this post.

