My sister talked me into joining Pinterest a couple months ago so she could send me recipes.  She sends recipes she thinks I’ll like – pumpkin everything – and recipes she wants me to make for her.  So this week, when she went back to work after having an adorable baby girl two months ago, I wanted to make her one of the recipes she’d sent.  Chicken and Noodle Casserole sounded really good for that day.  I knew I could make it ahead and reheat.  Since I’d be watching my amazing new niece, make ahead was a necessity – you never know how much attention a two month old will require!  Unfortunately, the recipe she sent called for condensed soup and sour cream.  I don’t use condensed soup and I was out of sour cream.  I went to a few of my trusted recipe sources only to either get nothing or another recipe with condensed soup.  I searched for a recipe with no condensed soup and found one at cleverlyinspired.com.

It was a great starting point.  I needed to add onion and veggies and use approximately six times the pasta but it turned out good.

  • 12 oz Whole Wheat Egg Noodles, cooked al dente
  • 3 (4 oz) chicken breasts, poached and diced or two cups from a rotisserie
  • 6 TBSP butter
  • 6 TBSP olive oil
  • 1/2 medium yellow onion, diced
  • 1/2 cup all purpose flour
  • 3 cup chicken broth*
  • 1.5 cups milk*
  • salt & pepper to taste
  • 1 cup frozen corn
  • 1 cup frozen peas
  • 1/2 cup bread crumbs
  • 1/4 cup parmesan cheese

*Measure out broth and milk in the same measuring cup. It makes adding the liquid easier!

Preheat oven to 350°F

  1. Poach and dice chicken.  *Poaching tips – my method, thekitchn’s method
  2. Cook pasta al dente.  Drain and set aside
  3. Return pasta pot to stove over medium heat. Add butter and olive oil.
  4. When butter is melted add onion and sauté until soft.
  5. Stir in flour.  Cook 2 minutes
  6. Add milk and broth – A SPLASH AT A TIME – stirring after each addition until thick.  After all the liquid is added add salt and pepper to taste.  Continue to cook sauce 2 minutes.
  7. Stir in the pasta, chicken and frozen veggies. Pour into a 9 x 13 pan.
  8. Mix bread crumbs and parmesan cheese and sprinkle over top.
  9. Bake at 350°F for 25-30 minutes; until browned.
