Sun-dried Tomato Pesto Pasta with Roasted Vegetables: After my first bite I was constructing a mental list of all my friends and family I wanted to e-mail “you’ve gotta try this!” when I remembered The Blog.  In the time since my last post I’ve tried many new recipes: Salted Chocolate Chunk Cookies, a brownie recipe so good I don’t want to share it (but I will…reluctantly), Mushroom Marsala Pasta Bake and many more.  But this Sun-dried Tomato Pesto Pasta, which I made to celebrate my husbands birthday, is the one.  The one that you have to thank for getting you the coveted brownie recipe.

My cousin and I live too far apart.  We share a love of food blogs and cooking but are rarely in the kitchen together.  We cook, in our separate kitchens, and share our successes and flops by text and e-mail.  It’s fun and I always enjoy getting a “this looks interesting” text with a link to a recipe.

That’s how I got to Cookie + Kate.  A text with a link to a Maple-Sweetened Banana Muffin recipe.  I made the recipe and reported back – they were really good.  I bookmarked the blog and periodically would check for recipes.  There are a lot of delicious looking recipes but the Sun-dried Tomato Pesto Pasta was a “must try immediately” for me.  So, here is a link to the recipe and my notes on making ahead.  Enjoy!

cookieandkate.com

Sun-dried Tomato Pesto Pasta with Roasted Vegetables

Make it ahead!

I try to make as much of our dinner as I can during my sons nap.  It is much less stressful and I make fewer errors!  Here is what I did and it worked out perfect:

Preheat oven to 425°F.  Prepare and roast the vegetables.  While vegetables are roasting, make the pesto.  Transfer pesto to glass bowl, cover and refrigerate.  Cool roasted vegetables, transfer to container, cover and refrigerate. When you’re ready to make the pasta, take veggies and pesto out of fridge.  Cook pasta *RESERVE ONE CUP PASTA WATER BEFORE DRAINING* this is going to thin out the pesto.  Drain pasta, return to pot.  Pour in pesto, thin with reserved water to desired consistency. Stir in veggies, cover pot.  After a few minutes, take a bite to see if your veggies are warm enough.  If not, turn on to low heat for a few minutes.

**Note on vinegar: I just remembered that I chose to use Red Wine Vinegar in place of Balsamic.  My husband isn’t the biggest fan of balsamic.  So, if you don’t have or don’t like balsamic vinegar, red wine vinegar will work great.

