Tags

,

A few years ago my MIL gave me a “Favorite Brand Name™ 3 Books in 1” cookbook. The 3 cookbooks are Church Potlucks, Sunday Suppers and Bake Sale.  I admit, it’s not a “go-to” cookbook but there are a couple good recipes that I’ve made a few times.

I love pumpkin.  And I love to use it in unconventional ways; pumpkin chili, pumpkin applesauce, pumpkin oatmeal, mixed in yogurt, and more.  So when I saw this recipe I was excited for yet another way to cook with pumpkin.  A lot of people expect anything made with pumpkin to be sweet.  Pumpkin isn’t sweet if you don’t add sweet.  So, if you like savory pumpkin, I think you’ll like this recipe!

The original recipe calls for 1 (9 ounce) package refrigerated cheese ravioli.  I’ve never made it with ravioli.  I prefer to use a whole wheat penne.  Also, if you don’t have shallots on hand you may omit or use a bit of diced white onion.  Feel free to use any cheese you’d like too.  I’ve made it with Parmesan and most recently with a left over bag of shredded Italian 5 Cheese blend. It’s a very forgiving recipe so use what you have on hand and what you like best!

Baked Pasta with Pumpkin Sauce (4 servings)

  • 1 box whole wheat penne
  • 1 tbsp butter
  • 1 shallot, finely chopped
  • 1 cup pumpkin puree
  • 1 cup heavy cream
  • 3/4 cup shredded Asiago cheese, divided
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp ground nutmeg
  • 1/8 tsp black pepper
  • 1 cup Panko
  1. Preheat oven to 350.  Grease 2-quart baking dish. Cook pasta according to package directions until tender; drain.  Place in prepared dish.
  2. Melt butter in medium saucepan over medium heat.  Add shallot and cook until tender, about 3 minutes.  Add pumpkin, cream, 1/4 cup of cheese, salt, nutmeg and pepper.  Reduce heat to low and cook until cheese melts.
  3. Pour pumpkin sauce over pasta and gently stir.
  4. Combine remaining 1/2 cup cheese with the Panko.  Sprinkle over pasta.
  5. Bake 15 minutes or until sauce is heated through and topping is lightly browned.
