Tags

, , ,

It has been so long since I’ve added a post, I had NO clue what my password was! Well, I’m in now and this is a good one. Cinnamon Raisin Quick Bread from 100 Days of Real Food Cookbook by Lisa Leake via Mighty Nest. I love the Mighty Nest blog. Great ideas for healthy school snacks and lunches. My daughter started kindergarten a couple weeks ago. She has to take a small, healthy, nut-free snack. I made this quick bread yesterday and it is truly one of the quickest breads to put together. Bake time is close to an hour but so are most quick breads. Other snacks I’ve made include two from eating from the ground up: banana oat bars (replace peanut butter with sunflower seed butter. Can also be made gluten-free by replacing whole wheat flour with oat flour), and pumpkin spice bars (use half pepitas, half dried cranberries). All are freezer friendly. Cut the bars and bread to whatever size is appropriate for your little snacker, freeze for about an hour on wax paper lined cookie sheet, then place in freezer bag. Take one out in the morning, pair it with fresh fruit and they’re all set at snack time.

Cinnamon Currant Quick Bread from 100 Days of Real Food Cook Book

The only change I made was to use dried currants in place of raisins.

Makes one 9 x 5 loaf

Preheat oven to 325°F.  Grease 9 x 5 loaf pan.

One (1) stick butter, melted (I used unsalted)

Whisk together
1-1/2 cup whole wheat flour
1-1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
1 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt

Use a fork to mix in
2 eggs
1 cup unsweetened apple sauce
1/2 cup pure maple syrup
and the butter

Fold in 3/4 cup dried currants or raisins

Bake 45 – 55 minutes until skewer come out clean.  *I started checking at 45 min but mine required the full 55 mins.

