Tags

, ,

Food Blog. Just a couple years ago I had never read one. I went to the internet for recipes, sure, but mostly to All Recipes, Cooking Light, Food Network, etc. One night, I googled “Lemon Snap Recipe” and clicked on a link to what I thought was a Martha Stewart recipe. It was a link to a blog, by a woman named Amber, about baking through the Martha Stewart Baking Handbook. “Who would do that?” and “Who would read that?” are two questions that immediately came to mind.  I even showed it to my husband with some snide remark about crazy people. I had no idea that I had just stumbled down the Knuckerhole!  I am now an avid food blog follower and, now with this site, a person who blogs about food.  Crazy, I know!

One of my favorite food blogs is The Kitchn. I love the recipes, tips, cooking lessons and Faith’s Daily Find; Faith Durand is the Executive Editor.  One day I came across Faith’s recipe for Chickpea Casserole with Lemon, Herbs & Shallots from her cookbook Not Your Mother’s Casseroles.  We LOVE chickpeas so I printed the recipe and put the book on hold at the library.  The chickpea casserole was amazing and I was excited to try more of her casseroles.  I made her ziti, baked chicken and rice, and this tortilla chicken casserole.  We eat a lot of “burritos”.  In our house anything put in a tortilla (wrap) is a burrito.  Ask my kids what they want for dinner and the answer will be “BURRITO’S!”  So I thought there was a good chance they’d like this too.  They loved it!

  • 3 TBSP unsalted butter
  • 3 TBSP all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup low sodium chicken broth
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 4 oz can mild green chiles, chopped (I omitted)
  • Eight 8-inch flour tortillas (I only had five 8-inch whole wheat)
  • 2 cups finely shredded cooked chicken (use a rotisserie or this poaching tip)
  • 2-1/2 cups shredded cheddar cheese (I used a mix of pepper jack and sharp cheddar – and used way less)
  • **I had left over black beans, maybe a half can, so I through them in too

Preheat oven to 350° and lightly grease a 9-inch pie pan with nonstick cooking spray.

Melt butter in a small saucepan over medium heat, then add the flour.  Cook, stirring, until the mixture forms a paste.  Slowly whisk in the broth and milk and stir until the mixture thickens, about 3 minutes. Stir in chiles (if using).

Place a tortilla in the prepared pie pan and top with a couple tablespoons of the sauce.  (I found 3 TBSP to be enough and I spread it around to cover the tortilla).  Then add a small handful of shredded chicken, small handful of cheese and some black beans (if using).  Repeat with remaining tortillas, and top the whole stack with a sprinkle of cheese.  Cover the pan loosely with foil, and bake for 30 minutes.  Let stand for 5 minutes before cutting into wedges.  Serve with salsa, corn chips and a salad.

BONUS RECIPE!  Because I only had five tortillas, I had a lot of left over sauce.  I didn’t want to waste it but wasn’t sure what to do with it.  Then I remembered this mac and cheese recipe from Homebeccanomics.  I did not measure anything but here’s what I did and it turned out great!

  • 1/2 box whole wheat rotini
  • shredded cheddar
  • left over sauce
  • freshly ground black pepper, to taste

Cook pasta according to box.  Drain and return to pan over low heat.  Add sauce and cheese.  Stir until cheese is melted.  Season with pepper….or ketchup.  You know who you are!

